Sunday, January 22, 2012

Not Irish Enough

so, last night i had an irish friend from Chelmsford and his two friends from Dublin come and stay the night. Today I spent the entire day trying to recover and not toss my cookies all over my roommate.

worst. hangover. ever.

I absolutely did not inherit irish drinking abilities. Oh gosh it was terrible I'm getting sick just telling you guys. This morning I woke up feeling alright which I realized about an hour later was because I was definitely still under the influence. I ate a chocolate bar for breakfast and stained by white tee shirt with a million little rain drops of chocolate and then I thought I just needed a coffee and a giant croissant to get my day going.

It was like my last supper. The croissant was covered in this sickeningly sweet (literally) sugar glaze and as soon as I stood up from that fateful meal I knew I was doomed. I really thought I was gonna toss my cookies all over las ramblas. I told hilary (my roommate) we needed to get a baguette and orange juice immediately and so we stumbled around while I gagged multiple times looking for a store open on sunday that had nothing sugary in it whatsoever because every time i saw chocolate and/or candy I had to cover my eyes.

We finally found the two necessities and I collapsed on our balcony moaning that there was "Not enough air".



I spent approximately an hour laying on the balcony (in a small puddle of the champagne we popped there the night before) scared to move and then I retreated to the bed where I recovered for approximately 5 hours with the help of facebook, pinterest, and Midnight in Paris (great movie.. immediately started looking at flights for paris). I had to resort to the internet because there was no way I was getting any sleep. I couldnt sleep because the music that wafts in our balcony that was once dreamy, magical, and serenading was an extremely loud opera singer today who's lungs I wanted to rip out of his throat.

Feels like a sin to have wasted a day in Barcelona in this state... Lets hope I dont become friends with too many Irish people. All I could think of today was "I dont want it. I dont want it." from the Family Guy episode when Stewie is trying not to puke.

HOWEVER... Friday I was very productive! I hiked in the mountains all day and it was sooo beautiful and quiet I felt like I was in a totally different country and I got some great pics that I will add to my site but heres some




Overall though, not one of my more thought out plans... I hiked up one mountain and from the top saw a beautiful castle looking thing on a nearby mountain that I simply had to see. So, I hiked all the way to that and then realized I was miles from where I started, had no clue how to get back, and was crazy lejos (far) from any public transportation. I ended up wandering a winding highway type road through little villages for about an hour or two until I finally found a very distant train station similar to our commuter rail in relation to the metro or the T. All's well that ends well eh?

ahhh que mas? Well.. i dont know if i told you guys this but Spain doesnt have dryer's? or they are extremely rare. So laundry is hung out to dry on the lines off our back porch. All landry. Bras, underwear, everything.. However, they neglected to give us any clothes pins and there just so happens to be a a restaurant directly under our balconies and I have a terrible fear that if the wind gets higher than 5 mph someone is going to get my thong in their soup.


thats all for now!

adios

No comments:

Post a Comment