Sunday, January 15, 2012

Start of Classes

Holaaaaaa!

classes start tomorrow... I apparently failed my placement test because I got placed in absurdly low level.  Im hoping to move up to where i belong but i have mixed feelings about that because the higher level is 520 to 740 monday through thursday which seriously cramps my style.

speaking of my style.. experiencing terrible bouts of buyers remorse. I feel like a five year old in my new green coat and the purse that i bought because i "needed" it looks disgusting in pictures. And I dont think i can return it... 1. because i dont know where the tag is and 2. because i dont remember how to say that in spanish

so far my showers have been hot! so thats good... and i cant say enough how much i love the area i live in. I live right across from the barcelona cathedral..

(thats the balcony in my bedroom)

and right in the middle of what seems like a million little shops/cafes/restaurants/souveneir shops/markets/grocers... I've been spending most of my days just literally wandering and finding new things... its funny because i cant get used to the hours of operation here. it seems like every little store is on its completely own schedule. It makes it interesting though because it feels like im walking down a different alley every time when the shops i saw before are closed and shops ive never seen are open!

we also went to two parks this week.. the cuitadella which is absolutely beautiful and a great place for running because the paths are dirt and theres a stunning building that looks like juliet used to live there
i fell in love with this park because of its running potential and the fact that there was little pups running around everywhere

OH and the dogs in barcelona are a complete mystery to me. There is some very strange relationship between dog and owner... either the dogs are unfailingly obedient or else they are just running rampant in the streets... a few times now i have seen pups just jaunting along all on their own looking like theyre headed out to run an errand and i cant tell if they are following that person i just passed, or maybe that bike that just rode by? or if they really are just completely on their own agenda..

the other park we went to is called parc guell it was constucted by Gaudi and he actually lived there for 20 years. Ive never been anywhere or heard of anything like this park. It is on a steep incline and there are plenty of recreational paths.. its beautiful and stunning and modern and contemporary as much as it is a relic and gothic and a little piece of the shire... the mosaic work on the walls and the benches is overwhelmingly amazing and the best part about it is that it offers some of the most beautiful panoramic views of the entire city, the ocean, and the mountains...


i cant wait to take any visitors to this place you will immediately fall in love!

hmm what else... I went for an accidentally kind of long run today which is great for me because i have a new found addiction to croissants (thanks europe -__-) and i got to see the beginning of the sun set on the beach... you can run so far along the coast line its suchh a pretty sight


so, our internet is terrible... i have been trying to upload pictures for approximately 3 days and I'm still not done but i have abandoned my shutterfly attempts because they keep rejecting half of my photos so im now using the following website to share my pics with you (disregard the previous link posted):

go visit my site now and see the rest of my pics! :) ill try to get them all uploaded by tomorrow night

https://picasaweb.google.com/105431112873705184992?authkey=Gv1sRgCKipmMuA-YbLHw



No comments:

Post a Comment